Search for Records:  

The Beatles - Something New   

Something New is the The Beatles' third Capitol release, but fifth American album following the United Artists release of A Hard Day's Night. This album includes eight songs from the original British release of A Hard Day's Night, as well as the remaining tracks "Slow Down" and "Matchbox" from the Long Tall Sally EP and the German release of "I Want to Hold Your Hand". It was released in mono and stereo. The mono release contains alternate versions of "Any Time At All", "I'll Cry Instead" [the "missing" third verse], "When I Get Home", and "And I Love Her". The album spent nine weeks at #2 on The Billboard 200, behind the United Artists A Hard Day's Night album. This album was also released on the Parlophone label for sale only on American Armed Forces bases in Europe. These copies have great collector value. The album was also issued in Germany on the Odeon label. The German version contains the unedited version of "And I Love Her", which was later released on the US version of Rarities.


  • A1)   I'll Cry Instead
  • A2)   Things We Said Today
  • A3)   Any TIme At All
  • A4)   When I Get Home
  • A5)   Slow Down
  • A6)   Matchbox
  • B1)   Tell Me Why
  • B2)   And I Love Her
  • B3)   I'm Happy Just To Dance With You
  • B4)   If I Fell
  • B5)   Komm, Gib Mir Deine Hand

Track listing above is from 1968-Jan-01 | US | Capitol Records - ST 2108 LP

Vinyl Releases:

Images from Releases of Something New

Click small images above to see larger versions.

Check out more vinyl records by The Beatles