Search for Records:  

Big Star - #1 Record   

#1 Record is the debut album by the American power pop group Big Star. It was released in 1972 by Memphis-based Ardent Records. Though many critics praised the album's elegant vocal harmonies and refined songcraft (frequently drawing comparisons to the British Invasion groups of the 1960s, including The Beatles, The Kinks and The Who), #1 Record fared quite dismally in terms of commercial success. However, like Big Star's follow-up albums Radio City and Third/Sister Lovers, #1 Record has more recently attracted wider attention, and in 2003 it was ranked number 438 on Rolling Stone magazine's list of the 500 greatest albums of all time.

See also: Zooey Deschanel's Morning Records!  


  • A1)   Feel
  • A2)   The Ballad Of El Goodo
  • A3)   In The Street
  • A4)   Thirteen
  • A5)   Don't Lie To Me
  • A6)   The India Song
  • B1)   When My Baby's Beside Me
  • B2)   My Life Is Right
  • B3)   Give Me Another Chance
  • B4)   Try Again
  • B5)   Watch The Sunrise
  • B6)   ST 100/6

Track listing above is from 1972-Jan-01 | US | Ardent Records (2) - ADS-2803 LP

Vinyl Releases:

Images from Releases of #1 Record

Click small images above to see larger versions.

Check out more vinyl records by Big Star