Search for Records:  

Bob Dylan - The Basement Tapes   

The Basement Tapes is a studio album by Bob Dylan and The Band, originally recorded in 1967 and released in 1975 by Columbia Records. As Dylan recovered from injuries sustained in a motorcycle accident in July 1966, he summoned the Band and began to record both new compositions and traditional material with them. All of the sixteen Dylan compositions are thought to have been recorded in 1967 in the basement of Big Pink, a house shared by three of the members of the Band, while the eight Band songs were recorded at various times and locations between 1967 and 1975; overdubs were also added in 1975 to some of the Dylan songs. The sleeve notes of the album were written by Greil Marcus; in these notes, Marcus compared Dylan's compositions to what he termed "the most mysterious songs" in American culture, Elvis Presley's "Mystery Train" and Robert Johnson's "Love in Vain". In his subsequent book Invisible Republic (later reissued as The Old, Weird America) Marcus expanded his interpretation of The Basement Tapes songs in order to link them to the world of pre-war traditional music which Harry Smith compiled on his Anthology of American Folk Music. The basement recording sessions laid the foundation both for the approach of Dylan's 1967 album John Wesley Harding, and for the Band finding their own voice on 1968's Music from Big Pink. The Dylan LP, a critically-acclaimed departure from the surrealist rock and roll he had recently pioneered on his milestone trio of albums from 1965 and 1966, was as much of a shock to his fans as were those records to his earlier folk audience. Both it and Music From Big Pink would greatly influence the turn, by many contemporary popular musicians, away from the psychedelic music that reached its height in 1967, toward an embrace of country-influenced folk styles.


  • A1)   Odds And Ends
  • A2)   Orange Juice Blues (Blues For Breakfast)
  • A3)   Million Dollar Bash
  • A4)   Yazoo Street Scandal
  • A5)   Goin' To Acapulco
  • A6)   Katie's Been Gone
  • B1)   Lo And Behold!
  • B2)   Bessie Smith
  • B3)   Clothes Line Saga
  • B4)   Apple Suckling Tree
  • B5)   Please, Mrs. Henry
  • B6)   Tears Of Rage
  • C1)   Too Much Of Nothing
  • C2)   Yea! Heavy And A Bottle Of Bread
  • C3)   Ain't No More Cane
  • C4)   Crash On The Levee (Down In The Flood)
  • C5)   Ruben Remus
  • C6)   Tiny Montgomery
  • D1)   You Ain't Goin' Nowhere
  • D2)   Don't Ya Tell Henry
  • D3)   Nothing Was Delivered
  • D4)   Open The Door, Homer
  • D5)   Long Distance Operator
  • D6)   This Wheel's On Fire

Track listing above is from 1975-Jan-01 | Europe | CBS - CBS 88147 LP

Vinyl Releases:

Images from Releases of The Basement Tapes

Click small images above to see larger versions.

Check out more vinyl records by Bob Dylan