Search for Records:  

Captain Beefheart And His Magic Band - Trout Mask Replica   

Trout Mask Replica is the third studio album by Captain Beefheart and The Magic Band, released in June 1969. The album was produced by Frank Zappa, a friend, mentor and former schoolmate of Beefheart, and was originally released on Zappa's Straight Records imprint. Combining blues, avant-garde, free jazz and other disparate genres of American music, Trout Mask Replica is regarded as an important work of experimental music and a major influence in alternative rock. A widely recognized and acclaimed composition, Trout Mask Replica was ranked fifty-eighth on Rolling Stone's 2003 list of the The 500 Greatest Albums of All Time.


  • A1)   Frownland
  • A2)   The Dust Blows Forward 'N The Dust Blows Back
  • A3)   Dachau Blues
  • A4)   Ella Guru
  • A5)   Hair Pie: Bake 1
  • A6)   Moonlight On Vermont
  • B1)   Pachuco Cadaver
  • B2)   Bill's Corpse
  • B3)   Sweet Sweet Bulbs
  • B4)   Neon Meate Dream Of A Octafish
  • B5)   China Pig
  • B6)   My Human Gets Me Blues
  • B7)   Dali's Car
  • C1)   Hair Pie: Bake 2
  • C2)   Pena
  • C3)   Well
  • C4)   When Big Joan Sets Up
  • C5)   Fallin' Ditch
  • C6)   Sugar 'N Spikes
  • C7)   Ant Man Bee
  • D1)   Orange Claw Hammer
  • D2)   Wild Life
  • D3)   She's Too Much For My Mirror
  • D4)   Hobo Chang Ba
  • D5)   The Blimp (Mousetrap Replica)
  • D6)   Steal Softly Thru Snow
  • D7)   Old Fart At Play
  • D8)   Veteran's Day Poppy

Track listing above is from 1969-Sep-30 | US | Straight - STS 1053 LP

Vinyl Releases:

Images from Releases of Trout Mask Replica

Click small images above to see larger versions.

Check out more vinyl records by Captain Beefheart And His Magic Band