Search for Records:  

David Bowie - Aladdin Sane   

The second most important moment in Bowie's glam period, Aladdin Sane is full of smart, cutting-edge songs that hold up decades later as classic moments in rock. Standout tracks include "Panic in Detroit," with Mick Ronson's screaming guitars and Mick Woodmansey's urgent drumming; "Watch that Man," a piano-driven, rollicking number perfect for the Bowie strut; the lascivious and sweaty "Cracked Actor"; the punky "Jean Genie"; and a perfectly raucous cover of "Let's Spend the Night Together." "Time" hearkens back to the theatrics of The Rise and Fall of Ziggy Stardust, while "Drive in Saturday," "The Prettiest Star," and "Lady Grinning Soul" serve as precursors to Bowie's "plastic soul" sounds that came later in the '70s. Aladdin Sane is even more impressive when considering that the same year this album was made, Bowie was also producing touchstone recordings for the Stooges (Raw Power) and Lou Reed (Transformer). The 30th anniversary edition of Aladdin Sane includes


  • A1)   Watch That Man
  • A2)   Aladdin Sane (1913-1938-197?)
  • A3)   Drive-In Saturday
  • A4)   Panic In Detroit
  • A5)   Cracked Actor
  • B1)   Time
  • B2)   The Prettiest Star
  • B3)   Let's Spend The Night Together
  • B4)   The Jean Genie
  • B5)   Lady Grinning Soul

Track listing above is from 1973-Mar-31 | Japan | RCA - RCA-6100 LP

Vinyl Releases:

Images from Releases of Aladdin Sane

Click small images above to see larger versions.

Check out more vinyl records by David Bowie