Search for Records:  

Johnny Cash - Orange Blossom Special   

Orange Blossom Special is the twentieth album released by country singer Johnny Cash on Columbia Records in 1965. Among others, the album contains the well-known title song and three covers of Bob Dylan songs. Cash would go on to become close friends with Dylan and collaborate with him on several occasions, including the so-called "Nashville sessions", a set of unreleased songs recorded by the two in early 1969, while Dylan was working on Nashville Skyline. Bob Dylan would also be the first guest to appear on the The Johnny Cash Show, in 1969. "It Ain't Me Babe" is a duet with his future wife, June Carter, as is "When It's Springtime in Alaska." The album also features a cover of "Wildwood Flower," Mother Maybelle Carter's signature tune. The old traditional "Danny Boy" would also appear on 2002's American IV: The Man Comes Around. Orange Blossom Special was re-issued in 2002 on Legacy Recordings with three bonus tracks, including one alternate take of a track already on the original album. "Engine 143" is another old Carter Family song, which Cash would later perform in 2003 for a Carter Family tribute. That performance would be the last song Cash would ever record.


  • A1)   Orange Blossom Special
  • A2)   The Long Black Veil
  • A3)   It Ain't Me, Babe
  • A4)   The Wall
  • A5)   Don't Think Twice, It's All Right
  • A6)   You Wild Colorado
  • B1)   Mama, You Been On My Mind
  • B2)   When It's Springtime In Alaska (It's Forty Below)
  • B3)   All Of God's Children Ain't Free
  • B4)   Danny Boy
  • B5)   Wildwood Flower
  • B6)   Amen

Track listing above is from ChungHwa Records - CH-3120 LP

Vinyl Releases:

Images from Releases of Orange Blossom Special

Click small images above to see larger versions.

Check out more vinyl records by Johnny Cash