Search for Records:  

Neil Young - After The Gold Rush   

After the Gold Rush is the third album by Neil Young, and one of four high-profile albums released by each partner of Crosby, Stills, Nash & Young in the wake of their chart-topping Déjà Vu album of 1970. It peaked at #8 on the Billboard Top Pop Albums chart; two singles taken from the album, "Only Love Can Break Your Heart" and "When You Dance I Can Really Love," made it to # 33 and # 93 respectively on the Billboard Hot 100. Neil Young's third solo album was released during a prolific period of his career, with the artist having recorded two solo albums and Déjà Vu with Crosby, Stills, Nash and Young in less than a year; after being sidelined with a back injury, he would wait until 1972 for his subsequent LP Harvest, which would make Young a household name. Although his work with Buffalo Springfield had shown him experimenting with a variety of musical styles, on Gold Rush Young continued the mix of hard rock with the country and folk-flavored acoustic approaches from CSNY and on 1969's Everybody Knows This is Nowhere. The Young biography Shakey claims he was intentionally trying to combine Crazy Horse and CSN on this release, with Crazy Horse appearing alongside Stephen Stills and CSNY bass player Greg Reeves. Initial sessions were conducted with Crazy Horse at Sunset Sound Studios in Los Angeles amid a winter tour that included a well-received engagement with Steve Miller and Miles Davis at the Fillmore East. Due to the deteriorating health of rhythm guitarist Danny Whitten, the sessions only yielded one track, "I Believe In You". This song, "When You Dance I Can Really Love", and "Oh, Lonesome Me" mark the only appearance of the backing group on After The Gold Rush.

See also: Crosby, Stills, Nash and sometimes Young and Friends  


  • A1)   Tell Me Why
  • A2)   After The Goldrush
  • A3)   Only Love Can Break Your Heart
  • A4)   Southern Man
  • A5)   Till The Morning Comes
  • B1)   Oh Lonesome Me
  • B2)   Don't Let It Bring You Down
  • B3)   Birds
  • B4)   When You Can Dance You Can Really Love
  • B5)   I Believe In You
  • B6)   Crippled Creek Ferry

Track listing above is from 1978-Jan-01 | US | Reprise Records - MSK 2283 LP

Vinyl Releases:

Images from Releases of After The Gold Rush

Click small images above to see larger versions.

Check out more vinyl records by Neil Young